Ghana Trade - Official SME Product Portal and Web Gallery

Does Ghana have Bilateral Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement and Double Taxation Agreement with my country?

In furtherance of the investment promotion mandate given under section 3 of the Ghana Investment Promotion Centre Act 2013 (Act 865), the Ghana Investment Promotion Centre is mandated to encourage and promote investments in the Ghanaian economy through the negotiation of Bilateral Investment Treaties with interested countries.

To date, Ghana has concluded over twenty one (21) BITS. Some of the agreements have been ratified while others are still awaiting ratification.

Those signed and ratified include:

  • The United Kingdom and Northern Ireland
  • The Kingdom of Denmark
  • The Federal Republic of Germany
  • The Peoples Republic of China
  • The Swiss Confederation
  • The Republic of Malaysia
  • The OPEC Fund
  • The Kingdom of the Netherlands

Those signed but awaiting ratification are

  • The Republic of Romania
  • The Republic of La Cote d' Ivoire
  • The Republic of Yugoslavia
  • The Republic of South Africa
  • The Republic of Mauritius
  • The Republic of Zambia
  • The United States of America (OPIC)
  • The Republic of Egypt
  • The Republic of Bulgaria
  • The Republic of Cuba
  • The Republic of France
  • The Republic of Guinea
  • The Republic of Mauritania
  • The Republic of Burkina Faso

Ghana has also concluded Double Taxation Agreements with;

  • France
  • The United Kingdom
  • Belgium
  • Italy
  • Germany
  • South Africa
  • Switzerland
  • Netherlands